Chiney Ogwumike, Swin Cash, Liz Cambage attend Basketball Africa League announcement

Photo Credit: Lamar Carter

When the NBA and WNBA say “Basketball Without Borders,” they mean it as evidenced by one of its latest international ventures.

The year 2020 will be the first season of the Basketball Africa League. There will be 12 club teams competing from 12 African countries that will take part in its first season which is scheduled to tip off next month in Senegal.

The 12 teams are:

Algeria (GSP – Groupement Sportif des Petroliers)

Angola (Clube Atletico Petroleos de Luanda)

Cameroon (Forces Armees et Police Basketball)

Egypt (Zamalek)

Madagascar (GNBC – Gendarmerie Nationale Basketball Club)

Mali (AS Police – Association Sportive de la Police Nationale)

Morcocco (AS Sale – Association Sportive de Sale)

Mozambique (Ferroviario de Maputo)

Nigeria (Rivers Hoopers Basketball Club)

Rwanda (Patriots Basketball Club)

Senegal (Association Sportives des Douanes)

Tunisia (Union Sportive Monastirienne)

There was a cavalcade of basketball luminaries at the NBA All-Star Africa Luncheon in Chicago for the big occasion – including Chiney Ogwumike, Liz Cambage, Swin Cash, Adam Silver, Marc Lasry, Masai Ujiri, Jason Collins, Festus Ezeli, Tacko Fall and Josh Ogokie.

The 12 teams are made of six that won national leagues and another six from Basketball Africa League qualifying leagues overseen by FIBA.

The announcement also saw the unveiling of the official Basketball Africa League uniforms. Nike and Jordan Brand is the exclusive on-court outfitter of the BAL – the first partnership inked by Basketball Africa League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *