Elena Delle Donne named 2019 WNBA MVP

Photo Credit: Scott Taetsch/Getty Images

EDD continues to bolster her already stellar future Hall of Fame (women’s basketball and Naismith) resumes.

It was announced that she indeed was the recipient of the 2019 WNBA Most Valuable Player award. Delle Donne ran away with the honors, garnering 41 of 43 first-place votes.

She is the first player in Mystics history to win MVP honors and the first player to win MVP with two different teams. Delle Donne also won the 2015 MVP award when she was with the Chicago Sky.

With the honors, she also joins Lauren Jackson, Lisa Leslie, Sheryl Swoopes, Cynthia Cooper and Candace Parker as WNBA players who have won the MVP award at least twice. That, needless to say, is impressive company.

The other two first-place votes went to the Sky’s Courtney Vandersloot. Brittney Griner of the Phoenix Mercury was second with 167 points behind EDD’s 420 and Jonquel Jones of the Connecticut Sun was third with 145.

Delle Donne led the Mystics to the top seed in the WNBA playoffs. She averaged nearly 20 points for the season, and over eight rebounds. She also blazed uncharted territory by becoming the first member of the W’s 50-40-90 club by shooting over 50 percent from the field, 40 percent from downtown and 90 percent from the free throw line.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *