Lynx nominated for Minnesota Sports Awards

Photo Credit: Renee Jones-Schneider/Minneapolis Star-Tribune

The first-ever Minnesota Sports Awards will take place on Wednesday, Dec. 13 hosted by Sports Minneapolis – and the 2017 WNBA Champion Minnesota Lynx are up for some hardware.

According to a report out of WJON 1240 in St. Cloud, the Lynx winning the 2017 WNBA championship will be up for Minnesota Sports Moment of the Year. The other nominees were baseball’s Minnesota Twins clinching a wild card berth and the Farmington High School softball team winning their first ever 4A state title via a walk-off home run.

In addition, regular season and Finals MVP Sylvia Fowles is also on the nominees list. Sweet Syl is up for Professional Athlete of the Year along with the Twins’ Brian Dozier and the Wild’s Jason Zucker.

The Lifetime Achievement Award will honor Rod Carew, a legendary Twins player. The other awards are High School Athlete of the Year, Collegiate Athlete of the Year, and the Courage Award.

The awards will emanate from the newly refurbished Target Center, where the Lynx will resume play next season as well as the site of the 2018 WNBA All-Star Game.

By: Akiem Bailum (@AkiemBailum on Twitter, Instagram)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *