WNBA announces all postseason games to air on ESPN networks

Photo Credit: Lamar Carter

In the case of this year’s WNBA playoffs, fans will not have any problems tuning in to watch this year’s wubble tournament.

ESPN and the WNBA announced that every postseason contest this year will be televised on the Worldwide Leader’s family of networks – that include ESPN, ESPN 2 and ABC as well as the ESPN app.

The postseason kicks off on Tuesday, Sept. 15 with both first round single-elimination games. The two second round single-elimination contests will occur two days later with the semifinals being contended from Sept. 20-29 (if necessary), then the Finals from Oct 2-11 (if necessary).

This year’s WNBA playoffs will be contested under a traditional postseason format with the eighth-seed and fifth seeds matching up as well as the sixth and seventh seeds in single-elimination contests. The third and fourth seeds will advance in single-elimination rounds by virtue of a single bye with the top two seeds earning double-byes to the semifinals.

As of today, those two top seeds would be the Seattle Storm and Las Vegas Aces. The Los Angeles Sparks currently stand in the three spot with the Minnesota Lynx being the fourth seed. The fifth seed would be the Phoenix Mercury, followed by the Chicago Sky at six and the Connecticut Sun at seven.

The Dallas Wings, Washington Mystics and Atlanta Dream are all in contention for the eighth and final playoff berth with the Indiana Fever and New York Liberty having been mathematically elimination from playoff contention.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *