Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame postpones 2021 induction ceremony to August

Photo Credit: WBIR-TV

Coronavirus concerns have prompted another postponement of this year’s Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame announced that this year’s festivities, scheduled to be held in-person at the Tennessee Theater in Knoxville, have been moved to August.

The ceremony will honor members of the 2020 class – that includes Swin Cash, Tamika Catchings, Lauren Jackson, Debbie Brock, Carol Callan and Sue Donohoe, who died in December at the age of 61. The 1980 U.S. Women’s Olympic Team will be honored as a Trailblazer of the Game recipient.

Cash played for five teams – the Detroit Shock, Seattle Storm, Chicago Sky, Atlanta Dream and New York Liberty. She finished her career with three championships – the two she won in Detroit and one in Seattle. Cash made four All-Star appearances plus won a pair of Olympic gold medals. She is currently part of the New Orleans Pelicans front office.

Catchings spent her entire career with the Indiana Fever and has a long list of accomplishments – including being the 2002 WNBA Rookie of the Year and a championship in 2012. She was on the All-Star team on 10 occasions and won four Olympic gold medals. Currently, she is in the Fever’s front office as its general manager.

Jackson also played her entire W tenure with one team. She was selected by the Storm first overall in the 2001 draft and won two titles in Seattle. She also won WNBL MVP four times and the WNBL Grand Final MVP on four occasions. She was on three silver medal-winning Australian Opals Olympic teams and now heads women for Basketball Australia.

Debbie Brock was a Delta State point guard and won three AIAW national championships. She is also part of the university’s Hall of Fame.

Callan is USA Basketball’s national team director and has been so since 1996. She has presided over six gold-medal winning efforts by Team USA going back to the 1996 Games in Atlanta.

Donohoe was Vice President of NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball for almost a decade. Her resume also included being the director of the Men’s Basketball Championship from 2002 to 2003 and was the director of the Division I Women’s Basketball Championship from 1999 to 2002. Donohoe is in the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame.

Stiff serves as ESPN’s Vice President for Programming and Acquisitions. Women’s sports – including the W – are her wheelhouse. She received the WBCA’s Mel Greenberg Award and is also credited with launching Jimmy V Week as well as the Kay Yow Cancer Fund.

The 1980 Team USA team includes:

Carol Blazejowski (WBHOF 1999)

Denise Curry (WBHOF 1999)

Anne Donovan (WBHOF 1999)

Tara Heiss (WBHOF 2003)

Kris Kirchner

Debra Miller

Cindy Noble Hauserman (WBHOF 2000)

LaTaunya Pollard (WBHOF 2001)

Jill Rankin Schneider (WBHOF 2008)

Rosie Walker (WBHOF 2001)

Holly Warlick (WBHOF 2001)

Lynette Woodard (WBHOF 2005)

Sue Gunter (coach, WBHOF 2000)

Pat Summitt (assistant coach, WBHOF 1999)

Betty Jo Graber (manager, WBHOF 1999)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *